EPHESO Award 2021

10 September 2021 11:15 a.m.

EPHESO 2021 Award Ceremony to

His Beatitude Pierbattista Pizzaballa
Latin Patriarch of Jerusalem


Il EPHESO Award is a prestigious award conferred by the Institute for Studies on the Mediterranean of the National Research Council (CNR-ISMed) and the Cisalpino Publishing House Cisalpino, Istituto Editoriale Universitario-Monduzzi Editoriale to personalities who have distinguished themselves for their cultural, political-diplomatic, social or economic contribution to the development of relations in the Euro-Mediterranean area.  It was created in 2016 as part of the project of the homonymous EPHESO - Euromediterranean Phenomena. An Economic and Social Observatory, to which it has been linked since its foundation.

Nominations for the Prize are proposed each year by the President or members of the jury. If there is more than one nomination, they are put to the vote of the jury and, in the event of a tie, the President's vote decides the final nomination.

The EPHESO Award will be presented by H.E. Ambassador Mario Boffo, President of the Jury, to His Beatitude Pierbattista Pizzaballa, Latin Patriarch of Jerusalem, for Euro-Mediterranean relations. His testimony of life, as well as his constant work, first as Custos of the Holy Land, then as Patriarch of the Latin Church of Jerusalem, constitute a very fertile material for the motivation of the Prize.

The award ceremony for the 2021 edition of the Prize was organised within the context of the international conference "Le Porte del Mediterraneo" (Pitignano, 9-10 September 2021), organised by the Diocese of Pitigliano-Sovana-Orbetello, Diocesan Museum of Palazzo Orsini, University of Florence - Department of Architecture.


The Prize has a high quality Jury composed, in addition to the President, of distinguished representatives of the economic, academic and diplomatic worlds of countries belonging to the Euro-Mediterranean area.

Ambassador Mario Boffo
President of the EPhESO Award
Rome (Italy)

Prof. Salvatore Capasso
Director of the Institute for Studies on the Mediterranean of the National Research Council (CNR-ISMed)
Professor of Economics, Parthenope University of Naples (Italy)

Domenico Contessa
Tourism entrepreneur

H.E. Ambassador Enrico Granara
Former Deputy Director for the Mediterranean and the Middle East at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

Prof. Françoise Graziani
Professor of Comparative Mediterranean Literature at the University of Corsica

H.E. Ambassador Fayiz Khouri
Ambassador of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan in Italy

Dr. Nadia Majoul
Vice President of the Tunisian Union of Industry, Commerce and Handicrafts

Dr. Mario Mattioli
President of the Italian Confederation of Shipowners

H.E. Ambassador Laura Mirachian
former Italian Ambassador to Syria, and to the United Nations in Geneva.

H.E. Giovanni Roncari
Bishop of Pitigliano-Sovana-Orbetello and Grosseto.

Arch. Fiona Sartoretto Verna
Owner of Sartoretto Verna - Pharmacy Project

H.E. Ambassador Moez Sinaoui
Ambassador of Tunisia in Italy

Prof. Myriam Swennen Ruthenberg
Professor of Italian Literature
Florida Atlantic University